Pack 325's
Home Page
Things We Do
Cub Scouting
Cub Scout Ranks
Youth Protection
RSVP to Events
Yearly Dues
BSA Forms
Scouting Links
Project Ideas

Cub Scout Pack 325
(Elma, New York)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login
Cub Scouting is a year-round family-oriented part of the BSA program designed for boys who are in first through fifth grades (or are 7,8, 9 and 10 years old).  Parents, leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the 10 purposes of Cub Scouting:
  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship and Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun and Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts
Icon File Name Comment  
Cub Scout Parent Information Guide.pdf Cub Scout Parent Information Guide  

Scouting Fun Facts

Boy Scout Alumni are:
  • 71% of football captains
  • 65% of basketball captains
  • 85% of student council presidents
  • 88% of school newspaper editors
  • 77% of editors of school annuals
  • 75% of business managers of school publications
  • 80% of junior class presidents
  • 89% of senior class presidents
  • 65% of college graduates
  • 72% of Rhodes Scholars
  • 75% of Military Academy graduates
  • 65% of U.S. Congress
  • 85% of airline pilots
  • 85% of FBI agents
  • 26 of the first 29 astronauts were Boy Scouts
  • 11 of the 12 astronauts who walked on the moon were Boy Scouts
  • Over half of the 108 Scout astronauts attained Star, Life, or Eagle ranks
For every 100 young men who join the Boy Scouts:
  • 12 will have their first contact with a church
  • 5 will earn their religious emblem
  • 2 will enter the clergy
  • 1 will use Scout skills to save a life
  • 1 will use Scout skills to save his own life
  • 2 will become Eagle Scouts
  • 18 will enter professions first learned through the Merit Badge system
  • 17 will become Scouting volunteers and pass their skills, inspiration, and leadership along to countless youths
  • 28 will develop hobbies started in Scouting that will give them lifelong interests
  • And . . . Only rarely will one appear in a criminal or juvenile court!
  • And yet, amazingly Scouting reaches only 25 percent of the youth in the country!

Cub Scout History

"I don't remember Tiger Cubs being a part of the Cub Scouts?" 
"When is your son going to be a Lion?"
"Are you a den mother?" 
A brief summary of the changes in cub scout program over the past 80 years:

The scouting movement began in 1907 by Lord Baden-Powell on the Brownslea Islands in the United Kingdom (UK), where 22 boys gathered
 to set up camp.  As a result of this camp and his experiences as a British Officer in the Boer War, he wrote Scouting for Boys, which was published in 1908.  By 1910, there were over 30,000 scouts in the United Kingdom.

While on a business trip to the UK, American Businessman, William D. Boyce encouraged a scout on a foggy day in London. Mr. Boyce was lost and needed assistance, and the scout guided Mr. Boyce to his destination. When William D. Boyce attempted to tip the young man for his assistance, the scout refused to accept his money.  The scout explained to him that he could not take his money for the Good Turn.  (In 1926, in honor of this Unknown Scout the Boy Scouts of American donated a statue to Gilwell Park, outside of London, England.) Mr. Boyce was impressed and intrigued by the unknown scout, and before leaving the UK, Mr. Boyce collected information on the Scouts from Lord Baden-Powell.  On February 8, 1910, the Boy Scouts of America was incorporated. 

The Cubbing program started in the United States in 1930.  A similar program had existed in the UK since 1916, when Lord Baden-Powell wrote The Wolf Cub Handbook, based on the Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling, who was a friend of Baden-Powell.  Many of the characters in Rudyard Kipling's novel have places in the Cub Scout program.  For example, in the Cub Scouts we use the title, Akeyla, to refer to a leader.  In the Jungle Book, Akeyla was the head of the wolf pack.

When the program started in the United States is was run by Boy Scouts who were den chiefs and leaders of the cubs' dens.  Boys started as Wolves (age 9) and then moved to Bears (age 10), and finally became Lions (age 11) before transitioning into Boy Scouts at age 12.  In 1935, the position of Den Mother was created.  The first Den Mothers were assistants to the Den Chiefs!  It was not until some time around 1950 that Den Mothers became the actual leaders of the den.  In 1968, the rank of Den Mother was entirely eliminated and replaced with the gender neutral title of "Den Leader."  Currently, women can hold any position of leadership within a Cub Scout pack

In 1941, the rank of Webelos was created.  It was the rank that was between Lion and Tenderfoot.  Today boys are taught that Webelos stands for "We Be Loyal Scouts," but it originally stood for "Wolves, Bears and Lions." The requirements of the Webelos Rank were similar to the current requirements for Arrow of Light.  It was also during the 1950's that the age requirements were shifted downwards-- boys were able to join cub scouts at age 8 and transition to boy scouts at 11.

In 1967, the Lions rank was eliminated and was replaced with a more comprehensive Webelos program.  The initial part of the Webelos program was structured to be more similar to the Lions rank, and a second part called the Arrow of Light was added, which was more similar to the original Webelos program.

In 1982, the Tiger Cub program was developed as an add-on program for individual packs.  The Tiger Cubs were a separate program, and the boys did not wear the cub scout uniform or earn the Bobcat Rank prior to working on their Tiger Cub achievements.  It was until 2001 that the Tiger Cub program was fully integrated into the Pack, as a Cub Scout rank below Wolf.