Troop 3G's
Home Page
Upcoming Events

Boy Scout Troop 3G
(Evanston, Illinois)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login



Scouts BSA Troop 3G is a group for 11-18 year old girls and to share in adventures with other Scouts.

We meet most Thursdays during the school year at Orrington Elementary (2636 Orrington Avenue in Evanston) at 7:30pm.  We also meet at other times throughout the year for field trips and camping.

We are a Scout-led group.  This means that the Scouts use the Patrol Method and choose their adventures. We work on various activities from the Scouts BSA handbook in order to advance in rank.

There are yearly dues as well as fundraising to help pay for our fun and learning.

If you would like information click the "Contact Our Troop" button above or stop by one of our events!  We can't wait to meet you!

Scout Oath & Law

All Scouts BSA Units learn the Scout Oath & Law:

Scout Oath
On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law

The Scout Law has 12 points. Each is a goal for every Scout. A Scout tries to live up to the Law every day. It is not always easy to do, but a Scout always tries.

A Scout is:

TRUSTWORTHY. Tell the truth and keep promises. People can depend on you.

LOYAL. Show that you care about your family, friends, Scout leaders, school, and country.

HELPFUL. Volunteer to help others without expecting a reward.

FRIENDLY. Be a friend to everyone, even people who are very different from you.

COURTEOUS. Be polite to everyone and always use good manners.

KIND. Treat others as you want to be treated . Never harm or kill any living thing without good reason.

OBEDIENT. Follow the rules of your family, school, and pack. Obey the laws of your community and country.

CHEERFUL. Look for the bright side of life. Cheerfully do tasks that come your way. Try to help others be happy.

THRIFTY. Work to pay your own way. Try not to be wasteful. Use time, food, supplies, and natural resources wisely.

BRAVE. Face difficult situations even when you feel afraid. Do what you think is right despite what others might be doing or saying.

CLEAN. Keep your body and mind fit . Help keep your home and community clean.

REVERENT. Be reverent toward God. Be faithful in your religious duties. Respect the beliefs of others.

Scouts BSA Ranks

Scouts BSA has 7 ranks. Scouts earn their rank badges by completing the requirements for each rank as outlined in the Scouts BSA Handbook.  You can also find those requirements HERE.

The ranks are:
Scout isthe first rank. The Scout badge has a gold fleur-de-lis on a tanbackground. The badge is awarded when the Scout demonstrates a rudimentaryknowledge of the Scouting ideals such as tying a square knot and knowingthe Scout oath, law, motto, and slogan

Tenderfoot is the second rank a scout can earn. A Scout can workon the requirements for the Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class ranks atthe same time, but each rank must be earned in sequence. The badge is awardedwhen the Scout completes requirements in the areas of Scoutcraft, physical fitness,citizenship, personal growth, and Scout Spirit. The badge issimilar to that of the Scout rank with it adding an eagle and two stars

Second Class is the rankabove Tenderfoot and below First Class. The badge is awarded when the Scoutcompletes requirements in the areas of Scoutcraft, physical fitness,citizenship, personal growth and Scout Spirit.

First Class is the rank aboveSecond Class and below Star Scout. The badge is awarded when the Scoutcompletes requirements in the areas of Scoutcraft, physical fitness,citizenship, personal growth and Scout Spirit. At this point, Scouts stopfocusing on the Scout skills, and start working on leadership.

Star is the rank aboveFirst Class and below Life Scout. It is the third-highest rank. Star is awardedwhen the Scout serves actively in the troop, team or crew in a position ofresponsibility for at least 4 months; performs at least six hours of community service; and earns six merit badges (four of which must be amongthe 13 required for Eagle Scout rank).

Life is the second-highestrank attainable, above Star and below Eagle. Life is awarded when the Scout servesactively in the troop, team or crew, serves in a position of responsibility forsix months, and performs six hours of community service.  A Scout must also earnfive merit badges (at least three of which must be required for the rank ofEagle) for a total of 11, including the six previously earned. Finally, theScout must pass a Scoutmaster conference, and board of review.

Eagle Scout is the highest rankattainable in the Scouts BSA division. Since its introduction in 1911, theEagle Scout rank has been earned by more than two million young people.

Requirements includeearning a minimum total of 21 merit badges, including all required badgesthat were not previously earned, and demonstration of Scout Spirit, service and leadership. Thisincludes an extensive service project that the Scout plans, organizes, leads,and manages.

History of a Name

We work closely with Evanston's Scouts BSA Troop 3 & Cub Scout Pack 903. 

Troop 3 was founded in 1915, and is the oldest Troop in the area.  When the Evanston Troops were originally formed, they were numbered as they were created, the first was 1, then 2, then 3, etc. At that time, we were under the Evanston Council.  In 1968, the Evanston Council joined with the North Shore Area Council, which eventually became Northeast Illinois Council.  When Evanston merged, they added a "90" in front of all the Unit numbers.  Pack 1 became Pack 901, etc.  However, as Troop 3 in Evanston was the oldest in the area, they made a deal to keep their number as "3".  This causes confusion, as Wilmette also has a Troop 3, although their Troop is several years younger than ours.

In order to tell the difference between the Troop 3 in Evanston & Troop 3 in Wilmette, they often add a letter after their name.  So our Troop is Troop 3E, and theirs is 3W.

Across the country, as new female Troops are being created, they usually have similar Unit numbers as the existing male Troops.  In order to help tell the difference, "G" & "B" are added after the number.

Cub Scouts officially started in 1930.  We believe that Pack 903 started a decade earlier.  Documentation has been found stating that Evanston parents who had older boys in Boy Scouts got together and ran a similar program for their younger children.  

Scouts BSA Troop 3B 

Cub Scout Pack 903 &